Residents must license their dogs six months and older through the Town Clerk's office per State of Connecticut regulations. You may obtain a dog license in person or by mail. You will need:
Licenses must be renewed annually in June. A penalty of $1.00 per month is charged for late licensing or renewals.
Replacement of Lost Current Tag: $.50
Transfer of Ownership (if already issued): $1.00
Change of Residence (within Town): $.50
10 Tag Kennel Licenses for an owner, keeper or breeder owning 10 or more dogs that are for show, sport or sale.: $ 51.00
20 Tag Kennel Licenses for an owner, keeper or breeder owning 10 or more dogs that are for show, sport or sale: $104.00
Guide Dog: FREE
Sporting licenses are issued on a calendar year and expire on December 31st of the year purchased. Lifetime licenses are available for those over 65 years of age, but these must also be renewed annually.
If you have questions about the new automated system or license requirements, please call the Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP) at 860-424-3105 during business hours or click here for more information.