tagline

LAND RECORDS

The Town Clerk's Office is open 8:30-4:00 on regular business days.

Recording hours are 8:30-3:30.

 

FEES FOR RECORDING DOCUMENTS:

$53.00 for the first page ($50.00 for the first page plus a $3.00 historic document preservation fee), plus $5.00 for each subsequent page or portion of a page of the same document.

 

Documents for recording must have an original signature.

 

If the document has MERS (Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems, Inc.) as a Nominee, the fees are as follows:  $159.00 for the first page and $5.00 for each additional page.  If the MERS document is a Release or Assignment with MERS as the Grantor, the fee is a flat $159.00 (even if it is a multiple page document).

 

SURCHARGES:

$2.00 for each transfer of $2,000 or more reportable to the State.
$5.00 if the current mailing address of grantee is not given.
$1.00 if the names of those executing, witnessing and acknowledging are not typed or printed under their signatures.

 

CONVEYANCE TAX:

A Conveyance Tax is due to both the State of Connecticut and the Town of Cheshire on all property transactions:

        STATE:

Residential Property & Unimproved Land:  .75% of transaction price
Residential Dwelling over $800,000:  .75% of $800,000 plus 1.25% of additional amount of transaction price
Non-Residential except Unimproved Land:   1.25% of transaction price

        LOCAL:

All Categories:  .25% of transaction price

 

FEES FOR RECORDING MAPS:

MAP FILING: $10.00 each

MAPS OF SUBDIVISIONS OF 3 OR MORE PARCELS: $20.00 each


COPIES:

COPIES OF LAND RECORDS: $1.00 per page, plus $2.00 fee for certification 

COPIES OF LAND RECORD MAPS: small $5.00, large $7.50, section $1.00 

USE OF BATTERY-POWERED SCANNER:  $20.00 per occasion

 


 

Cheshire Land Records are now available online:

www.uslandrecords.com

Customers may view and print records online through this website as well as the traditional viewing available in the Town Clerk’s Office.

 


(Fees for land records, conveyance tax and copies are established by the Connecticut General Statutes)

 

Last updated on Tuesday, February 23, 2016